Skip to main content

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is chaired by Alan Rusbridger. It provides strategic oversight of the Institute's activities and reports to the Head of the Department of Politics and International Relations and to the Department's General Purposes Committee.

Chair: Alan Rusbridger, Principal, Lady Margaret Hall

Prof. Neil MacFarlane, Professor of International Relations

Catherine Lieben, Head of Administration and Finance, Dept of Politics and International Relations

Prof. Louise Fawcett, Head of Dept of Politics and International Relations 

Prof. Timothy Garton Ash, Professor of European Studies, St Antony’s College, Oxford

Prof. Denise Lievesley, CBE, Principal, Green Templeton College

Geert Linnebank, Trustee of the Thomson Reuters Foundation and non-executive director at ITN

Dr Rasmus Kleis Nielsen, Director, RISJ

John Pullman, Global Head, Video and Pictures, Thomson Reuters

Antonio Zappulla, CEO, Thomson Reuters Foundation

Kate Hanneford-Smith, Institute Administrator, RISJ (Secretary to the Committee)

Meera Selva, Director of Journalism Fellowship Programme, RISJ