Skip to main content

Advisory Board

The Institute has an Advisory Board. This is chaired by the Chancellor of the University of Oxford, Lord Patten, and consists of individuals chosen for their expertise or experience relevant to the work of the Institute to give advice and guidance.

Chair: The Rt Hon Lord Patten of Barnes, CH, Chancellor of the University of Oxford

Prof. Stephen Ansolabehere, Professor of Government, Harvard University, USA

Marty Baron, Executive Editor, Washington Post

Campbell Brown, Head of News Partnerships, Facebook

Madhav Chinnappa, Director of Strategic Relations for News and Publishers, Google

Bill Emmott, former Editor-in-Chief, The Economist

Alexandra Föderl-Schmid, Israel Correspondent of the Süddeutsche Zeitung

Tim Gardam, Chief Executive, Nuffield Foundation

Lord (Richard) Inglewood, former Chairman, CN Group

Ritu Kapur, Co-founder and CEO, Quintillion Media

Sylvie Kauffmann, Editorial Director, Le Monde 

Jimmy Maymann, former CEO, Huffington Post 

Michael Parks, Professor of Journalism, Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California, USA

Vivian Schiller, Independent Advisor, former Global Chair of News, Twitter

Mark Thompson, President and CEO, New York Times Company

Baroness (Patience) Wheatcroft of Blackheath, former Editor-in-Chief, Wall Street Journal Europe